Review: Cinder by Marissa Meyer

When people ask me what I’m currently reading or what I’ve just finished, I am eager to tell them. But when I finished Cinder and someone asked what I read that day, I felt embarrassed to say and started laughing. I finished Cinder, which if you couldn’t guess, is a retelling of Cinderella. Once I told them the title, they smiled and nodded, suppressing their desire to judge. What is it about? They asked. It’s much better than it sounds, I assured them. They just had to listen.

Synopsis
Cinder is set in the future in a city called New Beijing. In addition to humans, there are androids and cyborgs; half android half humans. The plague, which claims the lives of nearly everyone diagnosed with it, is rampant. When Cinder, a cyborg,  is with her sister in the market, a strain of the plague breaks out, and Peony falls ill. Cinder is blamed for Peony’s illness by her stepmother. On top of this, Prince Kai comes to Cinder asking for help with his android. Cinder, being a cyborg, knows a thing or two about mechanics. She has a stall in the market where she fixes androids in need of repair. But she discovers she is not just repairing any android; she has now involved herself in an “intergalactic” war between the Lunar peoples and Earth.

So… Does it sound better than the Cinderella story that comes to mind? I thought so.

However, that doesn’t mean I think this book is one of my favorites. It is the first book of the Lunar Chronicles series, but I’m not sure if I’m going to continue on. You see, Cinder is a strong character, which I love, but it took so long for anything interesting to happen. The first 200 pages I struggled to keep reading, thinking I’d abandon the book. But once I got through those pages, the pace picked up and I couldn’t put it down. So, I wonder if the sequel will be faster as the world is already set up, or if every book will be like this. Interestingly enough, each book is based off of a different fairytale.

I definitely recommend it; its just a test of patience until you get to the point where things start to happen. Plus, it has garnered a 4.1 rating on goodreads from 100,000 reviews! (Not to mention that each book after it has a higher rating than the previous book.)

Rating
Finishing the book: 1/2 stars
The book started out glacially slow for me. Then, it picked up and I couldn’t stop reading. But I can’t say I didn’t contemplate returning it before that point.
Originality: 2/2 stars
Who would’ve thought to make Cinderella a computer/human mechanic in futuristic China? Marissa Meyer did.
Entertainment: 1.5/2 stars
It was really entertaining after the beginning!
Connecting with the characters: 1.5/2 stars
It’s not easy to connect with a cyborg but I felt like I knew her.
Writing Quality: 2/2 stars
The writing wasn’t anything that literary but Marissa Meyer can definitely write. I’m curious to see what else she cooks up in the future after this series!

Verdict: 7/10 stars!

Already read Cinder? Try the books that follow it and tell me what you think.

2 thoughts on “Review: Cinder by Marissa Meyer

  1. First, thanks for reading my review of Cinder. So you found it a bit of slog in the beginning. Just to level set me (and I’m comparing the literary quality of the writing, just the pacing) do you like Austen’s Pride and Prejudice?

    • Anytime! Funny you ask about Pride and Prejudice; I started reading it yesterday since I plan to start a series about classics on my blog. I read an abridged version as a child and loved it but that’s obviously not the same. I’ll let you know what I think about the pacing of it when I get further into it.

Leave a Reply

