July Favorites & Wrap-Up!!

No no no no no. It’s not already the end of July. But it is…
Looking just for the book favorites/wrap up? Scroll down!

Beauty Favorites

Hard Candy Glamoflage Concealer
They say this Walmart-exclusive product can conceal tattoos or facial discoloration and blemishes. I’m not so sure about the tattoo claim but a little bit of this product goes a long way, so you get a lot of use out of that gigantic tube they give you for $6. My recommendation is to use it with a brush like the Real Techniques Essential Foundation Brush (the foundation brush in the travel set). I found when I used my fingers to blend the product it moved, while when I blended it in with a brush it stayed in place, concealed, and left a nice dewy finish. You may also want to set it with powder.

image

Benefit they’re real mascara

I’ve got to tell you this story. You know home shopping networks like HSN and QVC? Well Benefit Cosmetics was on one of them a few months ago and did a segment on this mascara. Well, I can’t understand why anyone would buy it based off of the demo.. Why? Well, since people tune in at different times, they kept re-applying the mascara. And re-applying. And re-applying. When they finished that, they zoomed in and did a before and after. The poor model had about three eyelashes in the after, and each eyelash looked like the leg of a gigantic spider. In short, it looked terrible. Not the mascara’s fault, it was just because they put on way too much. With any mascara, you should wipe off the brush.

I love this mascara because it looks a lot more natural than some other mascaras. It lengthens my lashes, darkens them and separates them. Just one swipe of it makes a dramatic difference on my lashes, so its great for busy mornings.

image

Books

What I read this month (in order):

A Million Suns by Beth Davis
The Beginning of Everything by Robin Schneider
An Abundance of Katherines by John Green

Don’t Look Back by Jennifer L. Armentrout
My review: http://wp.me/p4MMvX-5

The Hundred Year Old Man who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared by Jonas Jonasson
My review: http://wp.me/p4MMvX-t

Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout
My review: http://wp.me/p4MMvX-1C

How did I read so many you ask? In three days, I read an Abundance of Katherine’s, Don’t Look Back and the 100 year old man. That doesn’t always happen though 😉

If you would like to see a review of any of these, leave a comment below!!! It is hard to gauge what my readers might want to see, so your feedback really helps me.

Follow me @books_palettes for sneak peeks, musings, and more! My avatar image is from “Jen Loves Teaching.”

Leave a Reply

