Review: An Abundance of Katherines by John Green

image

Cover image is from Goodreads.

My Synopsis:
Colin has a thing for girls named Katherine. Not C-a-t-h-e-r-i-n-e, Katherine. But somehow, all 19 of them has dumped him. Every single one. So, he takes a hilarious road trip with his friend Hassan in tow. There’s no destination; he just wants to ease his pain. But, Colin, being the prodigy that he is, decides to try developing a mathematical theorem to predict all the possible outcomes of his relationships, or better yet, all relationships on general.

It’s a John Green book; you know it’s going to be humorous and quick. This is definitely a short and quick summer read. But, that doesn’t mean I think this is the most entertaining book. It didn’t make me laugh out loud. Besides Hassan and his, well, personality, a lot of the humor just comes from the situation. This math nerd somehow managed to find and date 19 Katherine’s, and they all dumped him. But at some points that just became a little too ridiculous.

One thing that is cool, though, is the book’s epilogue. It is an explanation as to how all the math work Colin schemes up actually works, written by a real math expert. But I’m not a math genius, so I can’t say I truly understood this theorem. Props to you though, John Green.

There’s not much else to say here. It’s a beach read for sure, but nothing extraordinary.

Rating time!
Finishing the Book: 1/2 stars
It’s hard not to finish a book this short. However, I kind of wanted to finish it so I could read my other books…
Originality: 2/2 stars
I can’t say I’ve read a book where a math geek dates 19 girls with the same name.
Entertainment: 1/2 stars
So, so. I expected a little more.
Characters: 1/2
I loved Hassan. He was hilarious and all around a nice unique chatacter. Colin was OK, but he needs to stop the anagramming madness!
Writing Quality: 1/2 stars
Nothing too literary here.

Verdict
6/10 stars

Who should read it? Teens and tweens will enjoy it. I doubt this is a book any adult who reads YA, though, is going to lunge for. There are better beach reads.

Do you recommend any other John Green books? I don’t want to give up after just one book I felt iffy about. Let me know in the comments what you think! 🙂

Follow me @books_palettes for sneak peeks, musings, and more! My avatar image is from “Jen Loves Teaching.”

Leave a Reply

