Review: My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick

image

image

Can we dwell on this book’s ADORABLE cover and spine? My spur-of-the-moment photos take away from the gorgeousness that is this book. As I’ve mentioned before. I am a sucker for cool, bright or pretty covers. Now, the content.

My Synopsis

Samantha Reed’s and Jase Garrett’s families are complete opposites. Samantha’s mom is a single (but ready to mingle!) politician who prefers the home to be squeaky clean and tidy. The Garretts, next door however, have many children and likewise their house is a perpetual mess. For years, Samantha has watched and envied Jase’s family life from her balcony that peers into his yard. But her watching-from-afar habit comes to an end when Jase suddenly climbs into her balcony and begins a passionate and romantic relationship with Sam. But keeping it a secret is not as easy as it is to fall in love with Jase. This is a fresh YA romance with realistic characters and families that’ll make you swoon. Samantha and Jase are just as adorable as the cover.

You might be thinking; is there a plot? It’s a contemporary novel revolving around the lives of two teens and their families. Big things happen that I won’t say that really threaten their relationship and their families. I don’t normally read romances because they are sometimes melodramatic, sappy, unrealistic and idolized romances & just boring. My Life Next Door is anything but that. It doesn’t need a mystery element or suspense to be engaging. That’s how well its written! But take my recommendation and don’t read the library of congress summary inside the book because there is what I consider to be a spoiler…

Who should read this? Teens will find this to be a breezy and sweet romance. I’m sure adults will find it taking them back to their teenage lives and romances as well. 🙂

Rating time!

For those of you not familiar with my rating system, I break up 10 stars into 5 categories. On Goodreads, I rate things out of five like normal. I gave this 5 stars on Goodreads.

Finishing the book: 2/2 stars
I didn’t want to finish it so fast because it feels like breaking up with someone to leave the world in this book but I did! It’s a lighthearted page turner with a couple unexpected twists in the road that keep you reading that much faster.

Originality: 1.5/2 stars
It manages to be a fresh and original YA romance that is realistic enough to enjoy.

Entertainment: 2/2 stars
Ladies, you will want to date Jase. Move over Edward Cullen and Augustus Waters, and say hello to your new book boyfriend. Yes, I said book boyfriend. Don’t judge me.

Connecting with the Characters: 2/2 stars
The characters are to die for. Between little George and Patsy, two of the Garretts, to Samantha’s sister Tracey, there’s a nice array of characters that come to life in this novel.

Writing Quality 2/2 stars
This is a beautifully written yet easy to read book.

Verdict: 9.5 stars!
This earns this book a spot in my best of the best category.

Leave a Reply

