Review: We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

image

This was the first book I read for the Bout of Books 11 readathon. Even though the goal of the readathon is to read as much as you can, I made sure to pay attention to the details of this novel so I could share with you.

My Synopsis
The Sinclair family is lounging on their private island off of the coast of Massachusetts and their friends and staff. Cadence, Gat, Mirren and Johnny are The Liars, named this for a reason. They are wealthy and enjoying their summer; that is, until everything goes wrong. An accident of some sort occurs leaving Cadence with major head trauma and a lack of an explanation as to what happened that night. But when everyone around you is a liar, there is no telling how bad the truth really is.

What’s hard about making a synopsis for this book is that it seriously sounds like some trashy cross between Gossip Girl and Pretty Little Liars. It isn’t. One amazing thing about the novel is how stylistically it manages to be written in a simple yet sophisticated manor. No garbage here. In fact, it left me speechless.

If you read and liked Don’t Look Back by Jennifer L. Armentrout (read my review here), you may notice the coincidental similarity between the situation of Sam and Cadence’s dilemmas. They both do not remember the dark things that occurred on a specific night, plus the memories surrounding that time. Yet their two stories of what happened are quite different, so if you are looking for something enjoyable that is not a rehash of that book, this is golden.

This is a great book if you are looking for a thrilling yet short read. It is the perfect mix of romance and mystery elements and even a little bit of paranormal elements! I won’t say anything more so that you can read it for yourself. There is a reason the book jacket is quite mysterious and somewhat vague.

I am thinking of revising my star rating system so I am not going to use it today. Instead I will just do the typical out of 5 star rating and leave you to determine based on my review if the book is for you.

My Rating: 5/5 stars

Follow me @books_palettes for sneak peeks, musings, and more! Check out my social media page for even more Books and Palettes across your favorite platforms! My avatar image is from “Jen Loves Teaching.”

2 thoughts on “Review: We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

  1. Oooooh! I’ve seen a lot of people saying they would like to read this for their Bout of Books readathon, so I was pretty intrigued by it – think I am going to have to read it after seeing your review!

Leave a Reply

