Review: Waterfell by Amalie Howard

image

Basic Summary/Synopsis:
Princess Protection Program meets The Little Mermaid in this YA novel. Nerissa Marin is royalty; underwater royalty. But, she hides among humans in California until she can claim her birthright. Her kingdom underwater is in deep trouble; her father was murdered in their underwater kingdom and his murderer is on the loose. But in the midst of this, Nerissa falls for a new (and human) boy named Lo. Will this be the end for Rissa and her kingdom?

Major Characters:
Nerissa Marin- underwater royalty, heir to throne, attends mortal high school pretending to be human
Speio- Nerissa’s protector
Lo Seavon- Nerissa’s love interest

Nerissa is very relatable, despite the fact that she is not human. She does a great job at blending in. Speio is usually annoyed with Nerissa, I found, but for good reason. (He is sure something will happen to her- considering the king was murdered and her mom is missing, meaning Nerissa is the heir.)  Lo is cute and never fails to surprise you.

I am going to make a slight comparison between this book and Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout. Both books contain the whole, “I’m not who you think I am.” scene, someone who cares for this foreign person and wants the secrets kept, and a very attractive love interest. (I.e Daemon not wanting Dee befriending people and always showing up when he knew she or Katy was in danger, Speio trying to protect Nerissa…) If you are just coming off of the Lux series, try Waterfell. I think you’ll enjoy it.

As I read I was thinking the ending would be predictable and that I knew how it would end. Yet Amalie Howard pulled out some surprises that I did not expect at all! I was shocked by the ending.

As soon as I started reading Waterfell, I knew I was in love. It is addicting. You could call it a guilty pleasure read. It hits the right notes if what you are looking to read is something fast, mysterious and fun. I can’t wait to read the sequel, Oceanborn.

Have you read this book? What are your thoughts? Let me know in the comments below!

Follow me @books_palettes for sneak peeks, musings, and more! My avatar image is from “Jen Loves Teaching.”

3 thoughts on “Review: Waterfell by Amalie Howard

Leave a Reply

