Review: The Symptoms of My Insanity by Mindy Raf

image

Here is Goodreads’ description:

image

My Synopsis
Izzy is a hypochondriac; she fears and imagines the worst of everything. And it’s hard not to between her mom’s failing health and her failing relationships with her friends. But when the worst case scenario she has always feared hits, even a hypochondriac isn’t prepared.

I love how even though this book deals with some serious issues, it is hilarious. It’s hard to put emergency and hilarious in the same sentence, but it is true.

You don’t read this book expecting aliens or an apocalypse. It is just a contemporary YA romance with a side of comedy. Mindy Raf is a stand-up comedian, which serves her well when she wrote the book. It really is funny. You can’t say that about too many books.

But here is where things get more PG-13: Izzy will not let you get through this book without knowing that she has huge boobs. It’s in every chapter. She constantly reminds you of her struggle just when you think she could tell you got the picture.

Even though you may not relate directly to Izzy, somehow you really feel like you are living her life and understand her. I found I wasn’t calling her crazy even though from the synopsis she sounds a little wacky.

I will say this book is definitely not for your middle schooler, between the medical things, all the boob talk, and some other things I won’t mention as to not spoil anything.

Why read it?

I read this during the bout of books readathon to break up all the dark books I was reading. It served its purpose well. If you want something fun and comedic to read, this is a nice choice.

Best book ever? No. Will I bring this up a lot in the future? Probably not. While it isn’t my favorite book ever, I enjoyed reading it and so I wanted to review it for you guys anyway.

P.S If you have been following me a while, you know that I post every week day and sometimes weekends. That is 5-6 posts a week! I start school this week, and since I don’t know how busy I will be, I don’t want to promise that I can still consistently post every single day. You never know; there may be weeks where I do, and others where I just post a couple times a week. I promise I will post as often as I can. 🙂

Follow me @books_palettes for sneak peeks, musings, and more! My avatar image is from “Jen Loves Teaching.”

Leave a Reply

