Review: Cress by Marissa Meyer

Cress has been given an average rating of 4.5 stars on Goodreads. This rating surpasses those of the books before it, though each book in the series has had an upward trend in rating. Did Cress meet the high expectations or did it falter?

image

Image from Goodreads

I won’t begin this review with a summary, because that may spoil the previous books. This review is simply about what I thought of the content.

If you aren’t familiar with the Lunar Chronicles series by Marissa Meyer, you should definitely get caught up! They are excellent re-tellings of fairy tales with futuristic sci-fi twists. (My review of Cinder is here and my comparison of Cinder vs. Scarlet is here.) Cress is based off of Rapunzel.

Cress was definitely a five star worthy book. But since I rated Scarlet just as highly, it is hard to say which one edged out the other. I suppose Cress did, although I believe it is also the longest so far! We saw more of Thorne (love that guy! Although perhaps he was slightly funnier in Scarlet) and met Cress. I love how all these characters stories intertwined with one another though they are so far-flung.

The next book in the series, Winter, comes out on November 2015. (Ahh too far away!! Think about where you’ll be a year and two months from now. Scary, right?) However, Fairest comes in January 2015, which is the prequel to the series. I guess that will have to hold us all over.

Follow me @books_palettes for sneak peeks, musings, and more! My avatar image is from “Jen Loves Teaching.”

One thought on “Review: Cress by Marissa Meyer

Leave a Reply

