Review: The Falconer by Elizabeth May

image

Remember my book haul from a couple weeks ago? I figured it was about time to tell you what I thought of The Falconer by Elizabeth May!

(By the way, this is an advanced readers copy but this book was published in May. I got this book at a book signing event two weeks ago.)

My Summary
Most royal daughters have pretty much the same lives; they dance at the royal balls, get dressed up, maintain a good reputation.  Aileana does all these things- except maybe that last part. She’s rich, beautiful, smart and witty. But once her mother died, her reputation shattered to pieces. She’s not just gifted at stunning, she’s a gifted murderer. Everyone thinks she killed her mother, but maybe she is fighting for a higher cause.

Although this book is pretty dark, it is pretty funny. How could you not laugh at a honey-loving pixie named Derrick and his interactions with Fae and Aileana? He’s like Winnie the Pooh meets a faery meets Thorne from the Lunar Chronicles!

image

Notice I said faery. These are not cutesy pastel fairies. These are evil and murderous fae that stop at nothing to tear humans apart. That’s nice. But Aileana will stop at nothing to take them down before they take her.

This book is kind of like a buffet; it has a little of everything. It takes place in 1800s Scotland, it has romance, the supernatural,  elements of steampunk, mystery and action…. This book could please so many people.

So now you must be wondering, did I like it?
It was epic and fantastic and riveting and ah… I had suspenseful music in my head building up to that last sentence. Violent, yes. Do I love violent? No. But I loved the book.

I will admit this is my first steampunk YA and also my first YA historical novel in a while. Usually, I steer away from historical fiction since it tends to be a little boring and difficult to grasp, at least for me. I like to relate to books and a lot of times I have felt quite distanced from historical characters. However, this was not the case here. It felt almost modern in a sense- it was obviously not modern, but I felt like I really understood this life of Aileana’s, even though it is 1800’s Scotland.

I’d like to see a movie out of this one. Sure, it’d be disturbing due to the Fae but it’d be so so amazing!

So there you have it! Did you read it? Do you want to be a Falconer? Let me know in the comments below!!

Follow me @books_palettes for sneak peeks, musings, and more! My avatar image is from “Jen Loves Teaching.”

Leave a Reply

