Review: Iron Hearted Violet by Kelly Barnhill

image

Goodreads’ Description:

image

Book Genre: YA, high fantasy

My Thoughts
I enjoyed this book very much. It was different than what I’ve read in both good and bad ways.

Beginning with the “bad”, I thought the narration/point of view was a little strange. The book is told from a point of view that seems like it is a third person narration. You know, your run-of-the-mill third-person narrator that isn’t actually a character in the story but somehow knows a little too much about the lives of the major characters. But right away, I could see in the rhetoric that something was a little off about this so-called third-person narrator. Then you discover that this narrator is actually a minor character in the story, but at the same time is acting like a third person narrator. I don’t know how else to explain this, & I doubt I’m explaining it well, but I think you see why I thought this was bizarre. Original, but bizarre. Perhaps this was not intentional, and it wasn’t supposed to seem like this person was a third person narrator. Whatever the case, I felt like the execution of that idea was a little off. Still, the story definitely makes up for this.

Now, the good. Once you overlook the odd perspective of the story (which really does make a difference in how you read it!) you see this cool fairy tale story unravel. Mr.  Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore was the last book I read that revolved around books. There’s something magical bookworm reading a book about books, especially about magical books! (Have a cookie every time I say book in this post and you’ll be diabetic!)

But seriously, I love the idea of stories coming to life and the way magic is used in the novel. There are no wizards and witches. Instead, the magic is more “subtle.”

And of course, I have to talk about dragons. I love dragon books, yet I’ve only read a couple in my life. Forget those last-human-on-Earth tales; this is a last-dragon-on-Earth story. You’ll fall in love with this dragon, and the engrossing story of Violet and Demetrius.

Follow me @books_palettes for sneak peeks, musings, and more! My avatar image is from “Jen Loves Teaching.”

Leave a Reply

