Review: In Real Life by Cory Doctorow and Jen Wang

image

image

Description from Goodreads

My Thoughts
First off, I’ll tell you that I am no expert on graphic novels and I do not claim to be. I haven’t read a graphic novel in a couple years. But when I saw this at the library, something pulled me to it. I felt that for a minute I was a graphic-novel lover and I NEEDED that book right now.

The next thing that you should know about this graphic novel is that is an extremely quick read, especially since not all the pages have text. It is a hundred and seventy five pages, yes, but I read it in about 15 minutes, if even that. But since reading speeds vary from person to person, I’d say it’ll probably take you from 15-30 minutes.

I enjoyed it but I felt it went a little too fast. The book takes place over a couple of weeks, but it felt like maybe one or two days had passed. Again the entire book can be ready in 15 to 20 minutes depending on your reading speed. I wanted more! It was awesome to see a video game come in book form, and I didn’t understand why it had to be so short! I would’ve loved to meet the teacher in-game, for example.

One note critique; it says on the top of the front cover (cut off above), that it’s a “graphic novel for gamer girls of all ages.” However, that very statement, though meant to be a complement, probably turns off a lot of guys who may have thought of reading it. Boys and girls can and should totally read the same books, but what guy wants to walk around with a book that basically has a “girl alert” label on it?

The Verdict
– Awesome idea and illustrations from an amazing author and illustrator, but it left me wanting more. The story was good, so why limit it? I hope Doctorow will write more graphic novels in the future.

– This is a nice read for boring car rides or to cure any “book hangovers” you may have!

I give this one 3/5 stars!

P.S You may have noticed I have switched to a different uploading schedule. Before, I was posting every day, or as many days a week as possible. However, most posts were not reviews. I am trying to strike a balance between reviews and posts where you can get to know me better as a blogger and a person! Thanks for your patience and understanding! Blogging can be difficult; sometimes you feel like you are talking to a wall! Please don’t be a wall! 🙂

Leave a Reply

