Review: The Half Life of Molly Pierce by Katrina Leno

image

image

Description screenshotted from Goodreads

Genre: YA, psychological-mystery

The Half Life of Molly Pierce, (or Half Life, as I’m going to abbreviate it), is another one of those books that doesn’t tell you very much about it on the inside cover but what it tells you is more than enough to get you excited to read it. (I.e We Were Liars by E. Lockhart) It was not what I was expecting at all – in a good way. (If you follow me on Twitter, you’ll remember I said “holy schnitzel” in reference to the book.)

So as not to spoil anything, let’s jump to the part where I tell you if it is worth reading or not.

It’s a short, fast-paced read. You’ll want to read it in one sitting, or at least you’ll be forced to read it in one sitting. It’s too engrossing to put down, and it keeps you on the edge of your seat. This is no psychological-thriller. (Sorry ladies, no hot zombies here!) It’s a mystery of a girl who has blank gaps in her memory and is beginning to remember and fill them.

I couldn’t think of any books Half Life was similar to until about 3/4 of the way through, so I think it is safe to say this novel is quite original. I like the use of first-person perspective rather than third-person omniscient, because you get to be in Molly’s head, and you get to (hooray!?) struggle through this memory mystery with her.

My only complaint? People are inevitably going to judge books by their covers and spines. This book has what I consider to be quite a misleading cover. The front cover has an image of who I suppose is Molly and smoke rising up around her face. The back cover is blue and has some little water droplets. I’ve been trying to think about symbolism and what these things could represent in relation to the book but I really don’t see the connection, and if there is a deeper connection, it couldn’t be easily recognized by the reader. I like covers to really fit the books and I just don’t see it. Honestly, and this will sound strange, when I first saw it, the front cover made me think of Looking for Alaska and someone either a) smoking or b) in a fire. But neither of those things are what the book is about! I would never guess that the book is a psychological mystery about memory loss!

But cover rant aside, this one gets a definite 5/5 stars from me!

Have you read The Half Life of Molly Pierce? Let me know in the comments below! 🙂

Follow me @books_palettes for sneak peeks, musings, and more! My avatar image is from “Jen Loves Teaching.”

Leave a Reply

