Review: Girl on a Wire by Gwenda Bond

image

Screenshot of book summary from Goodreads

image

The entire time I read this book, I kept thinking, this is so unoriginal. Isn’t this exactly what The Night Circus is, but in YA form? Well, to be fair, it isn’t that similar. So never mind that. But something still holds me back about this book.

I found the writing language simple and kind of lacking detail. As an aspiring myself, I’m a fan of showing and not telling. (I’m known for my writing style which is very, well, florid.) However, this means that this book could have some appeal to the young to mid-age teens, as it is so easy to read.

I did enjoy the elements of romance and mystery in this book. They kept the story going. But of course the romance in the novel was your typical swoon-worthy but not all that realistic YA romance, so keep that in mind.

Girl on a Wire was my first magic book. I normally read sci-fi, dystopia, fantasy, those sort of books. I obviously dabble into other things, but generally speaking, those are where it’s at. Yet, there’s something undoubtably special about this book, whether it be the nostalgia of a circus or the allure of the magic in this circus. I give it 3/5 stars, because it is worth at least checking out. I’m sure if this book falls into the right hands, it’ll make someone very happy. It just didn’t make it onto my list of favorite books of all time.

If you’ve read and liked The Night Circus, or wanted to read it but thought it was too long, try Girl on a Wire. And after, you can dream of being the next Nik Wallenda and imagine yourself pirouetting on a tightrope as gracefully as Jules Maroni can.

Follow me @books_palettes for sneak peeks, musings, and more! My avatar image is from “Jen Loves Teaching.”

Leave a Reply

