Biggest Let Downs of 2014?

As you know, there are two big categories of books; overhyped and underhyped. And then, there are the books that somehow fall into the radar. With all these hyped and not hyped it’s hard to tell what you are really going to think of a book to you actually read it. This means there’s likely to be at least a few let downs along your reading journey. As much as I loved a lot of what I read this past year, I was disappointed a few times.

My first disappointment was In Real Life by Cory Doctorow. You can read my full review here. Why was I so disappointed? This graphic novel had so much potential; an awesome writer and illustrator team, a unique premise of RPG gaming mixed with real life, but that didn’t really come through. At some point in the middle it became like a train changing tracks; it was on one really cool track, then decided it would rather teach me things than entertain me. I felt like screaming at the book, honestly, because I really wanted to love it. It’s nice to get something out of what you read, but this felt too forceful.

Next was John Green’s An Abundance of Katherines. Now, I love the Greens. Crash course has gotten me through biology, US history, you name it. But I felt this book lacked the amount of entertainment I was expecting from a so-called hilarious and amazing book. The main thing that was funny here was the fact that Colin managed to find 19 girls named Katherine, all of whom had interest in him, within a reasonable mileage radius. For more of my thoughts on the book, click here.

Lastly, there was Top Ten Clues You’re Clueless by Liz Czukas. Now, I feel bad putting this one down at all since it is a little out of my element. I generally don’t read the fluffy contemporary romances and what not. I have read a few, and there are a couple I really loved (this and this.) but TTCYC just didn’t make my list. But since it might make yours, you should read about it here: Top Ten Clues You’re Clueless

What were your loves and let downs of 2014? Let me know in the comments below! 🙂

Follow me @books_palettes for sneak peeks, musings, and more! My avatar image is from “Jen Loves Teaching.”

Leave a Reply

