Review: Prelude (Book One of the Nocturne’s Reaping series) by Jennifer Alice Chandler

Disclaimer: I was sent a copy of this novel in exchange for a review. As always, all of my opinions are 100% honest!

Before I get into my review, I want to mention that I’m also going to post an interview I did with Jennifer. She’s very sweet and while she may not be the most famous author in the world, she has some insight into the genre and in publishing. I think you’ll enjoy it, so stay tuned!

Official Book Summary: 

Seventeen-year-old Lark Tampy was falsely convicted of a crime and sent to an adult prison colony as a child. She soon comes under the thumb of the ruthless leader of a syndicate of outlaws. This man is known by the name Leader Monrage. Still, as bad as being Leader Monrage’s pawn can be, it pales in comparison to the secret plan he has in store. It is a plan that could take countless lives throughout the universe.

Nocturne's Reaping Cover

Can you sense the drama yet? Can you feel it? *looks into camera while dramatic music plays*

I’m going to start with Lark. Lark is pretty commendable, considering she did not do the crime (won’t tell you what it is or who actually did it of course) and yet is serving the time. (Whenever I rhyme by accident I get pretty darn happy with myself. “She didn’t do the crime but still did the time HA!) But Lark isn’t in just any sort of prison. She’s in a prison COLONY, meant for adults, as a child. And then there’s Leader Monrage. Let me tell you one thing; he’s creepy. But he also seems so…human. He is human, but he didn’t seem that ruthless or vile to me. I don’t know if he was intended to be, but this made it more interesting. He seemed more like a crazy guy with big ideas and an evil mindset. Still, don’t mess with him if you ever meet him. Just don’t.

I’ve also gotta give this novel points for such an interesting array of names. No John Smith’s here. Lark, for example, is such a cool name.

I can’t say much else without giving anything away, so I’ll leave you with that. I’m going to give Prelude 3.5 stars, because it was fast-paced and enjoyable, and had interesting characters. There were also a couple twists along the way that made it even easier to keep reading. Overall, a good sci-fi novel that will especially please sci-fi connoisseurs more than those who just dabble in the genre. Not my favorite sci-fi novel, but still something I don’t regret reading.

You can pick up Prelude on Amazon for your kindle here:

http://www.amazon.com/Prelude-First-Book-Nocturnes-ReapingTM-ebook/dp/B00TYVROKK

or you can snag yourself a nice print copy here:

http://www.amazon.com/Prelude-First-Book-Nocturnes-Reaping/dp/1507537980/ref=tmm_pap_title_0

Happy reading! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Review: Prelude (Book One of the Nocturne’s Reaping series) by Jennifer Alice Chandler

Leave a Reply

