Review: The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness

I really don’t know what propelled me to take this book home and read it. I’d heard if it somewhere, sure, but where I wouldn’t know. What I do know is Mr. Ness’ books are wildly popular it seems, and so I decided to give one a whirl. I was not disappointed.

The Knife of Never Letting Go is the first book in The Chaos Walking trilogy. It also is a little under 500 pages long. But don’t let the size scare you- you’ll fly through this book in no time. In fact, I read it in one sitting, and stayed up until 2 A.M to finish it. I don’t think I’ve stayed up until 2 A.M in months, honestly, and I regret nothing about it.

The first thing you’ll notice is precisely the thing that blows me away about the writing. Our main character is a 12-year-old uneducated boy living in a town where there is Noise; you can hear everyone’s thoughts and they can hear yours. That alone is a crazy premise. And since he is 12 and uneducated, you can bet his spelling isn’t great either. So right away, you are immersed into this boy’s mind, not just from what he tells you, but HOW he tells you. You are led to believe what he believes, whether those things are true, or not. Brilliant.

The Knife of Never Letting Go certainly won’t let you go either. With its fantastic writing, thrilling story and memorable characters, you’ll be vying for the rest of the trilogy. There were even a few comedic things thrown in there, although this is by no means a comedic novel. (Ever wonder what a sheep thinks? You’ll find out) My only reservation is that I wouldn’t recommend it to young teens, not only because of its length but because of the amount of violence and language that comes with it. But you need that for the story and the point of the story. I give this novel 4/5 stars.

Follow me @books_palettes for sneak peeks, musings, and more! My avatar image is from “Jen Loves Teaching.”

2 thoughts on “Review: The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness

Leave a Reply

