Review: The Adventures of Superhero Girl by Faith Erin Hicks

Cover image from Amazon

Cover image from Amazon

There are few books that can make me laugh out loud (literally) in a public place, much less, the public place I work at. With the silence that generally hangs in a library, combined with my coworkers swarming around, it’s just not the ideal situation for me to cozy up in the YA section, not working, and be laughing in a room full of silence.

But today was different. I was off from work, and decided to venture to the library in the morning. The morning is probably the only time my library has that sort of silence; in the afternoon, all you hear are the shrieks of children and their feet pounding on the floors as they race each other through the aisles and *probably* trip over themselves. You know how much noise a single child can make, now imagine an entire chorus of them at 5:00 in the afternoon in between lunch and dinner? Yeah, good luck with your studying.

My point is, The Adventures of Superhero Girl made me forget where I was. I forgot that I was sitting in a quiet, peaceful library, reading to my heart’s content on a Monday morning. Ms. Hicks has delivered a simply HILARIOUS and charming graphic novel, and it will not disappoint.

The Adventures of Superhero Girl, like Nimona, began as a webcomic. In 2013, it was published into an actual hard copy book. (Which is glorious for old-school readers like myself.)

What makes this graphic novel story extra special is that it is so real. Our main character struggles with all-too ordinary struggles, despite her extra-ordinary super powers. She struggles with self-confidence, motivation, friendship, all the things that we teenage girls encounter in our day to day lives as well. And through all her ups and downs, you feel for her, like she’s a best friend. A super cool best friend. (Not that my real best friends aren’t super cool too.) And besides, this comic is just plain funny. There are so many jokes I could list for you, but then you’d have no reason to go read the book for yourself now do you?

Please go pick up a copy of this awesome graphic novel and support artists like Faith Erin Hicks. You can also find some of her other ongoing webcomics (including this one!) on her website: http://www.faitherinhicks.com/webcomics/

I also just found out Rainbow Rowell is going to release two graphic novels, both illustrated by Faith Erin Hicks.  I am officially very excited for the next few years in the book publishing industry!

2 thoughts on “Review: The Adventures of Superhero Girl by Faith Erin Hicks

  1. Wow! Never really thought about reading Graphic Novels, but this seems like a very interesting read! And Rainbow Rowell graphic novels? That sounds awesome!!! Love her books

Leave a Reply

