Comic Review: Tabatha by Neil Gibson

Never did I think I’d find myself rooting for a thief. Thanks, Tabatha.

Disclaimer: I was given a galley of this comic thanks to Diamond Book Distributors (who also own Image Comics!) on Netgalley. All thoughts and opinions are my own, as always.

Tabatha cover image courtesy of Netgalley

Tabatha cover image courtesy of Netgalley

Publisher: TPub, Diamond Book Distributors

Publication date: November 3rd, 2015

Type of Book: Comic/ Graphic Novel

Official Book Description

Luke works as a mailman in Los Angeles and moonlights as a thief – the empty houses on his postal route are rich, easy pickings for him and his friends. Everything goes as planned until one house turns out to not quite be so empty. The situation spirals out of control, leaving the happy-go-lucky thieves battling for their lives. And all because of Tabatha.

My Thoughts

Before Tabatha, my comic reading endeavors had been pretty much limited to reading superhero comic trades from my local library, with a few exceptions, like Saga and Kinski. Tabatha was a nice change that still delivered all the action I’d expect from reading a comic book, with an eerie twist. I loved how it started out almost normal; we follow your average mail delivery guy, and then as you read, the story unfolds and the action builds up. Suddenly, this isn’t just a guy delivering mail and robbing rich houses with his friends. Luke picks the WRONG house. And then you meet Tabatha.

The tale has your fair shares of creepiness and humor. There were times where I laughed at moments on every single page, and times where I had to recollect for a moment before moving on. (I will never become a mail delivery person. Not happening.) But besides the awesome story itself, the artwork is drawn beautifully. I cannot stress that enough. The the panels are drawn with such attention to color and vibrancy that you’ll find it hard to look away.

I can’t believe I’m that person who’s about to talk about a holiday that isn’t for another three months BUT seeing as this comic releases November 3rd, you’ll want to round up your leftover Halloween candy and pick up this creepy and entertaining start to the comic series when it hits the public! (Not literally, of course. I don’t think comics are allowed to do that nowadays. Although, I’d totally watch that happen.)

I’m giving Tabatha 3.75 stars, for being entertaining and beautifully drawn. If you can take creepiness, you’ll enjoy it. If you’re someone like me, it’s definitely entertaining, but I think I’ll stick to my usual Ms. Marvel for now.

Leave a Reply

