My 2016 Year in Books Survey

The 7th annual End-of-Year Book Survey is hosted by Jamie at The Perpetual Page-Turner. (I love that blog name!) The questions made me curious, so I figured I would share my results with all of you.

2016-end-of-year-book-survey-1024x984-768x738.jpg

2016 Reading Stats

Number of Books You Read: 45

Number of Pages Read: 12,629

Number of Re-Reads: 2.5 (I read about half of Armada by Ernest Cline in 2015 and DNF’ed it. I picked it up from page 1 again this year and made it through.)

Genre you read the most from: …literary fiction? adult fiction?? This is hard to categorize?

1. Best Book You Read In 2016?

I explained my top 8 in a previous blog post since I can never pick just one but I will arbitrarily choose…Cat’s Eye by Margaret Atwood?

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

Armada by Ernest Cline, who wrote Ready Player One. I adored RPO, and when I read the synopsis for Armada I was extremely excited. My first try reading the book didn’t go well (DNF), but the second go-around was far better. It was entertaining, but it was quite predictable and the plot was a little too perfect.

Also, Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel. Again, an entertaining premise, but not the best execution. It didn’t feel complete, and there was little to no character development to go along with the plot.

3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read?

This could go in many directions. There’s The Vegetarian by Han Kang, or The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up by Marie Kondo. Ooh, or maybe The White Tiger by Aravind Adiga?

 4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did)?

Paper and Fire by Rachel Caine, the sequel to Ink and Bone. Consider yourself pushed to read this series!

5. Best series you started in 2016? Best Sequel of 2016? Best Series Ender of 2016?

Series: The Neapolitan Novels by Elena Ferrante.

Sequel: Paper and Fire by Rachel Caine

I didn’t end any series!

 6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2016?

Most of what I read were books by authors I’d never read before, but I think my answer will be Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie.

7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?

L’Exil Selon Julia by Gisèle Pineau (Translation: Exile According to Julia)

 8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi or Armada by Ernest Cline.

 9. Book You Read In 2016 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

Any of the Jane Austen novels I read, which were: Lady Susan, Sense and Sensibility, Pride and Prejudice, Emma, Mansfield Park, Northanger Abbey.

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2016?

The Curious Case of Benjamin Button by F. Scott Fitzgerald

11. Most memorable character of 2016?

Dracula of Dracula.

 12. Most beautifully written book read in 2016?

Cat’s Eye by Margaret Atwood

13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2016?

Americanah

 14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2016 to finally read? 

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K Rowling. A 2017 goal would be to keep chugging with this series!

 15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2016?

Literally anything from Cat’s Eye.

16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2016?

SHORTEST BOOK: 64 pages
The Curious Case of Benjamin Button
by F. Scott Fitzgerald

LONGEST BOOK: 488 pages

Dracula by Bram Stoker

 17. Book That Shocked You The Most

Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi or The Vegetarian.

18. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)

(OTP = one true pairing if you aren’t familiar)

Perhaps I will update with an answer?

19. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year

Elizabeth Bennet and Jane Bennet?

20. Favorite Book You Read in 2016 From An Author You’ve Read Previously

Pride and Prejudice

21. Best Book You Read In 2016 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure:

The Vegetarian 

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2016?

Mr. Darcy?

23. Best 2016 debut you read?

Homegoing

24. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?

Paper and Fire by Rachel Caine

25. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?

Roller Girl by Victoria Jamieson

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2016?

The Storied Life of A.J Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin

27. Hidden Gem Of The Year?

This isn’t really hidden but The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky.

28. Book That Crushed Your Soul?

The Perks of Being a Wallflower (P.S, ow?)

29. Most Unique Book You Read In 2016?

The Vegetarian for sure.

30. Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?

Also The Vegetarian. (It was disturbing for me, so although it is making a lot of categories, I did not love it.)

book-blogging

1. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2016?

I love the NYPL Book Blogs, as well as Book Riot.

2. Favorite review that you wrote in 2016?

Unfortunately, I did not write any reviews in 2016. However, some of my favorite past reviews have included: The Adventures of Superhero Girl and Evil Librarian, mostly because those books were really fun to read.

3. Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog?

Not in 2016, but I really enjoyed this interview with Jennifer Alice Chandler  as well Madeline Dyer’s guest post about writing dystopian worlds. I gave her the topic, and she blew it away.

4. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?

I got to take part in the Very Inspiring Blogger Award in 2015, which came with a series of questions to answer. As you can tell, I like answering questions!

5. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2016?

This survey is really bringing on the blogging guilt! Again, I will go with the interview I completed and the guest post.

6. Most challenging thing about blogging or your reading life this year?

Balancing part-time jobs with full-time studying. Unfortunately, that got the best of my blogging abilities in 2016! Reading wasn’t thwarted though, since my jobs and studies all revolve around reading. (Hence, the 45 books I read over the year.)

7. Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)?

My Favorite Books of 2016 by far!

8. Post You Wished Got A Little More Love?

Perhaps this one!

9. Best bookish discovery (book related sites, book stores, etc.)?

Thrift Books will save your life if you are a student (or any book-loving person on a budget).

10.  Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

Technically, I failed my Goodreads challenge by 5 books. Interestingly, I gradually lowered the challenge over the course of the year. I started at something crazy, maybe 100 books, made it 75, then 70, 52…eventually it stopped at 50. However, I’m not disappointed at all. The Goodreads challenge is great for motivation, but if you take it too seriously, you’ll zap all the fun out of reading and enjoying a nice long book!

 

looking-ahead-books-2015

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2016 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2017?

Madame Bovary by Gustave Flaubert.

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2017 (non-debut)?

The Professor and the Madman. I’m curious to know how murder is connected with the Oxford English Dictionary.

3. 2017 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?

Ash and Quill by Rachel Caine! (The third book in The Great Library series). I also noticed that Beth Revis will be publishing a YA Rogue One novel, which is pretty exciting.

 4. Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2017?

^^^

5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2017?

To update this blog as often as possible!

PHEW! On that note, I hope you all had lovely New Year’s celebrations, and I can’t wait to see what your 2017 reading resolutions look like. Cheers!

 

 

Leave a Reply

