Week 1 Reading Recap

In this first week of the year, I managed to complete a fair amount of reading. I am currently about 3/4’s of the way through The Hobbit by J. R. R Tolkien, and read the majority of that amount over the course of two days. As you might guess, I am really enjoying it, and as soon as I finish writing this post, I will be reading it again.

As you might remember, I also suggested a Short Story Challenge for 2017 in which you read 1 short story per week, or 52 total in the year. To find a short story, I ventured to the free magazine bin in my library and found The New Yorker’s 2012 Sci-Fi issue. The issue contains 4 short stories, all sci-fi, as well as some poems. Unfortunately, I didn’t pick the most interesting story in the issue; I read “My Internet” by Jonathan Lethem. I found it quite boring, actually, partly due to the narration, and partly from the plot, though the end does prove slightly more intriguing.

What I am happy about, though, is that since the issue is nearly 5 years old, there are many blog posts reviewing and critiquing each story in the issue, and I found that my thoughts were not alone in the blogosphere. So, though I disliked my first story, I did gain something, and that is precisely what this challenge is all about!

What have you been reading so far this year? Let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

